Why Facebook sucks ass

images

I was like everybody else…using Facebook on a regular basis…checking my newsfeed several times a day just to make sure I didn’t miss anything.  Reuniting with old friends, and some relatives I hadn’t seen since they left me stranded down the pitch black lane at the farm.  Oh sure, we rehashed it on Facebook, they still deny it…but I still have the emotional scars.  It was an entirely new social setting and I loved it.  And sometimes you could say “exactly” what you wanted because you were hidden behind your keyboard and it somehow made it socially acceptable to tell your girlfriend their boyfriend was a douche. I could find out what people ate for dinner…where they went on vacation…how pretty their newly painted living rooms were and more. I found out why a good friend was posting daily statuses on “how to spot a narcissistic man,” evidently she dated one.  I saw funny videos and lots of cat posters with funny sayings. I started a season long battle with a football nemesis that hated Notre Dame (I happen to love Notre Dame). We spent game day trash talking and clogging up everybody’s newsfeed.

But as Facebook continued to grow…I noticed something else…the low life scum of the world had a new outlet for displaying pictures of animal torture and mutilations. They popped up on my newsfeed because other animal rescue organizations wanted to expose these low life idiots, which would hopefully get the law enforcement involved, or at the very least get them banned from Facebook.  But guess what…every time they were reported…nothing happened. I personally turned in several graphic photos of dog torture (the latest was of a Hispanic hanging dogs by their ears on a clothesline and throwing cats in with vicious dogs) and Facebook’s response was “we did not remove this photo because it does not fit our criteria for graphic violence.” But here’s the truly ironic part…they have no problem deleting photos from animal rescue sites because they are getting too much activity and have too many shares. Several times after a natural disaster photos of lost dogs were shared in the hopes of reuniting them with their owners. That is forbidden according to Facebook. Don’t clog up the newsfeed with lost dogs and cats..

So I finally decided I had enough…I deactivated my Facebook page and its liberating…I no longer feel the need to grab my phone and check my status just in case…I might miss something important…like a cool vegan recipe. But more importantly I feel I did the right thing by no longer supporting a social network that has no issues with animal mutilations and torture and somehow find it acceptable newsfeed material.

So…screw you Facebook…I’m joining Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

